I’m a 28-year-old Canadian.

I'm also a yoga teacher.

A doula.

A traveller.

A book-lover.

A tree-hugger.


2018 was a year full of changes. After spending five years working in China and South Korea as an Early Childhood Educator, I returned home to Canada in the fall of 2017. And I had a really hard time fitting in. Canada has always been my home, but somehow I felt like an outsider. I loved reconnecting with friends and family, but it was really hard to explain my current path. People were confused why I was pursing a Masters degree in education if I was no longer working as a teacher. People wondered why I would want to work as a part-time nanny. People assumed I would buy a house, get married, and stay in Canada permanently. 

But I don't want a big house or a nice car. I don't care what my dishes look like or how many things I own. I want to be surrounded by real people and real experiences. I don't want to spend my life working 9-5 simply because it's expected. I want to do something I believe in. A friend once told me that she didn't define herself by any one profession, but rather as a professional traveller. The various jobs she had around the world simply allowed her to travel while still earning money. People often question my decision to take a break from my 'career' job, but I've realized that I really don't want to be defined by one single profession. All of these different jobs build my range of skills, and will hopefully lead to my 'dream job' - even though I'm still not sure what that looks like.

In 2015 I completed my 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training in Costa Rica, and I finally felt like I found my place in the world. I met my yoga family, learned how to teach yoga, and developed a daily meditation practice which allowed me refocus my life and become more in-tune with myself. During my four years living in Jeju, South Korea I had the honour of teaching weekly classes to a wonderful group of expats. Last year I taught yoga full-time in Canada, and I was reminded that it really is possible to love your job. In January 2018 I founded Child’s Pose, which is a business that supports the growth of families and children through birthwork, early childhood workshops, and pre/postnatal fitness.

But living in Canada didn't feel right so in May of 2018 I decided to pack all my belongings into a 5x5 storage unit, sign a contract with an agency in Milan, and dive head first into the modelling industry. I still question whether or not it was the 'right decision', but it gave me the opportunity to spend the summer in Europe and experience what modelling is all about. You can read more about my experience in Milan here.

I recently moved to a little village in England where I’m working as an 'au pair' as well as a doula. I really have no idea what the next year has in store for me, and it's both terrifying and exhilarating. I'm still trying to figure out how to combine my interests while travelling and earning a modest income, but I have a feeling 2019 will bring great things my way.